Hello Hawasa

I’ve gotten really used to getting up early, and I have to say, I really enjoy it. I’m able to get more done in the morning, including my (almost) daily workout with Katie and Amanda! We all had a filling breakfast, and headed out to our next school in Hawasa, called Hayik Dar, meaning ‘near the lake’ in Amharic. Yet again, I realized how lucky I am to be living the life that I am. Every single child here has ripped clothing, they can’t shower very often, if at all, and the majority of these children are malnourished, primarily because they can’t afford nutritious foods. We noticed that overall, the children at this school had healthier teeth, but there were a handful of kids who had lots of plaque and decay. Pang and I looked at a girl’s teeth that had decayed so much that all of her 1st molars were gone. It’s so sad to all of us that there is such poor dental healthcare.

 

 

IMG_3018

On a different topic, I’ve really been amazed at all the manual labor the children do here. It’s incredibly exhausting for them, but they push through because it’s what they have to do to survive. I really admire all of them for being so determined and emotionally strong. After we got the last set of school assessments completed, we took a short break and headed to Haile Resort – a resort founded by a famous Ethiopian Olympic runner. Cassie, Tau’Toya, and my mom got pedicures, and Tau’Toya and I both got massages. The rest of the group, either went swimming or sat by the lake and relaxed. I could hear Devon and Taryn laughing from my massage room. (Sounded like they were all having a great time!)

IMG_3005

Later, the group of us enjoyed the beautiful view of the lake and reminisced on the memories of our trip so far. Cheers to another wonderful day in this amazing country!

OW

Leave a Reply

